MASTKD sources at the International Olympic Committee (IOC) and World Taekwondo (WT) confirmed the list of the eight quotas in the discipline for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.


Taekwondo allocates four quotas to the host country and four more to countries that failed to qualify any athletes. Until Wednesday, it was not known which divisions Japan would occupy, nor the names of the beneficiary nations.

However, just a month before the start of the Olympic Games and after conversation with MASTKD, it was confirmed that the invitations or wildcards granted by the Tripartite Commission went to Burkina Faso, Afghanistan, Democratic Republic of Congo and Honduras.

Burkina Faso will take to Tokyo Sawadogo Passamwindin Faysal, in the -80kg; Farzad Mansouri, will be the representative of Afghanistan in +80kg; Naomie Katoka Kasumpata, from the Democratic Republic of Congo, will fight in the -67kg; and Keila Avila is the Honduran who will fight in the +67kg, according to the official document.

For its part, Japan occupied the categories of -49kg and -57kg, in the women’s division; and -58kg and -68kg, in the men’s division.

In addition, the team of refugee athletes is made up of three athletes. Two of Iranian origin and one Afghan.

They are Dina Pouryounes Langeroudi (-49kg), Kimia Alizadeh Zonouzi (-57kg, Youth Olympic champion and Rio 2016 bronze medalist) and Abdullah Sediqi (-68kg).

Taekwondo will take place in the Olympic Games in the city of Chiba, near Tokyo, from July 24 to 27 in Hall A of the Makuhari Messe, according to the IOC schedule.